Search This Site

Irish Statutory Authorities

Irish Government Website  

This website provides a directory to all government departments and agencies.


Department of Enterprise, Trade & Employment

The Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment promotes the sustainable development of a modern competitive enterprise economy based on quality employment, social inclusion and enhanced working and living standards.  Their website includes information on employment rights, consumer rights legislation and the Department's Information Office.

Department of Enterprise, Trade & Employment, Kildare Street, Dublin 2.
Tel: (01) 631 2121
Fax: (01) 631 2827

For Employment Rights queries telephone  (01) 631 3131 or email
For Work Permits queries telephone  (01) 631 3333/3308 or email

Department of Social Protection

The Department of Social Protection has responsibility for the formulation and implementation of social protection systems, including income maintenance schemes and other supports.  Their website includes details of all schemes and services, including rules and guidelines for administering services.

Headquarters, Aras Mhic Dhiarmada, Store Street, Dublin 1.
Tel: (01) 704 3000

Department of Finance (Public Service Pensions)

The Department of Finance has overall responsibility for public service pension policy.
7 - 9 Merrion Row, Dublin 2.
Tel: (01) 676 7571
Fax: (01) 604 5735

The Pensions Authority

The Pensions Authority regulates occupational pension schemes and Personal Retirement Savings Accounts (PRSAs) in Ireland as part of its statutory role to monitor and supervise the operation of the Pensions Act. The organisation also advises the Minister for Social Protection on pension matters generally and protect the interests of Irish pension scheme members. 

Verschoyle House, 28/30 Lower Mount Street, Dublin 2.
Tel: (01) 613 1900

Revenue Commissioners  

The Revenue Commissioners deal with all taxes including personal income tax. The site contains the text of their individual leaflets as well as more detailed information. The Retirement Benefits District is the unit of the Revenue Commissioners which has responsibility for all taxation matters relating to pensions.  

Revenue Commissioners
Financial Services Pensions
Large Cases Division (formerly Retirements Benefits District)
Ballaugh House,73-79 Mount St. Lower,Dublin 2. 

Irish Financial Services Regulatory Authority  

The Irish Financial Services Regulatory Authority (Financial Services Regulator) was established on 1 May 2003. The Financial Services Regulator is responsible for the regulation of all financial services firms in Ireland. It also has an important role in the protection of the consumers of those firms.
PO Box 9138, College Green, Dublin 2.
LoCall: 1890 777 777
Tel: (01) 410 4000

The Equality Authority  

The Equality Authority is an independent body set up under the Employment Equality Act 1998 who's objective is the the elimination of discrimination.

Clonmel St, Dublin 2.
LoCall: 1890 245545
Tel: (01) 4173333
Fax: (01) 4173366

Office of the Director of Equality Investigations (OEDI)

The Equality Tribunal Investigates and mediates complaints of discrimination under equality legislation and provides the main locus for redress of first instance for equality cases arising under both employment equality and equal status legislation.

Clonmel St, Dublin 2.
Tel: (01) 477 4100
Fax: (01) 477 4141